In a competition decided over four intense concerts with the Sydney Symphony Orchestra at the Concert Hall of the Sydney Opera House this week and an electrifying final session held on Saturday 22nd July, Korean pianist Jeonghwan Kim was announced the winner of the Ernest Hutcheson First Prize, receiving $50,000.

“It means so much to me to win such a prestigious competition,” said Jeonghwan Kim. “To win first prize is such a rewarding experience, and a motivation to go further and explore more. I was really glad that I was able to connect with the audience, and to share beautiful music during the competition.”

Winner of the 2023 Sydney International Piano Competition Jeonghwan Kim. Photo © Jaimi Joy

The Percy Grainger Second Prize was awarded to Uladzislau Khandohi, with Yungyung Guo receiving the George Frederick Boyle Third Prize.

Reuben Tsang won the Nancy Weir Best Australian Pianist award.

Piers Lane, Artistic Director of the SIPC, AKA ‘The Sydney’ said: “The consistently high level of the 32 competitors selected from 250 applications for this year’s competition shows clearly that the top young pianists in...