APRA AMCOS, the Australian Music Centre and SOUNZ have announced the recipients of the 2022 Art Music Fund grants, with 11 composers from Australia and New Zealand each receiving a $5,000 grant towards the commission of a proposed work.

The 2022 Art Music Fund recipients are Cat Hope, Corrina Bonshek, Hamed Sadeghi, Kate Milligan, Linda Kouvaras, Maree Sheehan, Paul Clift, Riki Neihana Gooch, Robert Curgenven, Ross McHenry and Wally Gunn.

Riki Gooch. Photo © Celeste Fontein.

Riki Gooch, a 2022 Art Music Fund recipient. Photo © Celeste Fontein.

Since 2016, the Art Music Fund has handed out more than half a million dollars to new works that have been presented in Australia, New Zealand and around the world. An initiative of APRA AMCOS in partnership with the Australian Music Centre, this year marks the first time their New Zealand counterparts, SOUNZ, are partners in the grants.

The $55,000 allocated this year will support new works addressing a range of subjects, including the work of teenage climate activists, Persian Sufism philosophy, a Dutch shipwreck, the Song of Solomon, ‘iceberg songs’, the Māori voice in conducting, the intricacies of the pipe organ and more.