The Australian National Academy of Music has announced the composers commissioned for its 2024 ANAM Set. Each composer will write a solo or duo work for the Academy’s third-year musicians.

“Already, the ANAM Set is an epoch-defining collection of Australian new music,” said New Zealand composer Callum Mallett, one of the commissioned artists.

ANAM Set musicians.

ANAM Set musicians. Photo supplied

“This initiative fosters a unique partnership between composer and performer that is so important to my work. I’m grateful this important exchange extends to composers across the Tasman, and I am so pleased to be able to collaborate with committed musicians early in their career.”

The Australian composers are Natasha Anderson, Victor Arul, Lee Bradshaw, Andrew Chen, Lisa Cheney, Peter de Jager, Connor D’Netto, Stuart Greenbaum, Jonathan Heilbron, Christine Pan, Peggy Polias, Christopher Sainsbury, Lachlan Skipworth, Chris Williams, Justin Williams and Aaron Wyatt.

Veteran composers Hollis Taylor and Jon Rose have also been commissioned; the two will work collaboratively on a single solo work.
For the first time, three New Zealand composers have also been chosen for the commission: Salina Fisher, Callum Mallett, and Mirama Young.

For its inaugural set in 2021, ANAM...