Thirteen emerging directors have been chosen for the inaugural CAAP Directors Initiative, a unique partnership program between Contemporary Asian Australian Performance and three state theatre companies – Melbourne Theatre Company, Queensland Theatre and Sydney Theatre Company. Established to discover and nurture Asian Australian directors, participants will undertake a two-year program geared towards their professional development.

Melbourne Theatre Company will welcome Ra Chapman, Joe Paradise Lui, Diana Nguyen and Alice Qin as its CAAP directors, while Queensland Theatre have chosen emerging theatre makers Shari Indriani, Nasim Khosravi, Ngoc Phan, Ling-Hsueh Tang and Merlynn Tong. Sydney Theatre Company has meanwhile accepted directors Courtney Stewart, Jennifer Rani, Kenneth Moraleda and Tasnim Hossain into the program. Participants were selected following a week-long workshop in each city.

In their first year, participants will closely observe mainstage productions and attend directing workshops, while the following year sees them receive hands-on directorial training and the chance to further engage with host companies.

“MTC is delighted to be a part of the CAAP Directors Initiative along with our friends at Queensland Theatre and Sydney Theatre Company,” said MTC Artistic Director Brett Sheehy. “Together we will be offering ongoing opportunities to nurture...