The Sydney Symphony Orchestra (SSO) has announced the recipients of its 2024 Fellowship program.

The year-long development program prepares emerging performers for a career as a musician, offering masterclasses with internationally-renowned artists and mentorships from SSO musicians.

The 2024 Sydney Symphony Orchestra Fellows. Photo supplied

All in their 20s, the Fellows will receive opportunities for chamber and orchestral performances – on the mainstage and regionally – as well as assistance with career management, audition preparation and the development of technical skills.

The Fellows are Dominic Azzi and Rain Liu (violins), Harry Swainston (viola), Joseph Kelly (cello), Alexandra Elvin (double bass), Laura Cliff (flute), Miriam Cooney (oboe), Clare Fox (clarinet), Hayden Burge (bassoon), Stefan Grant (horn), Joel Walmsley (trumpet), Jordan Mattinson (trombone) and Jack Peggie (percussion).

A 2016 report evaluating the SSO’s Fellowship Program found that 86 percent of past Fellows had current employment with a symphony orchestra, with just over half occupying permanent roles. It also recognised the program as “amongst the world leaders” in terms of the level of orchestral experience. 

According to the report, Fellows are guaranteed 40...