Paul Dean and Elliott Gyger were presented with the 2022 Paul Lowin Prizes at a ceremony at the APRA AMCOS premises in Sydney on Monday night, which also saw William Barton and Dr Anita Collins deliver the Peggy-Glanville Hicks Address.

During the event, double bassist Ben Ward performed Yuin composer Brenda Gifford’s solo work Walimbaya (Return). Ward performed Walimbaya at the 2022 Canberra International Music Festival, receiving a four-star review from Limelight. Unable to see it there, Gifford was clearly delighted to be able to watch Ward perform it here.

Elliot Gyger and Paul Dean

Elliott Gyger and Paul Dean, winners of the 2022 Paul Lowin Prizes. Photo © Maria Boyadgis.

Brisbane-based composer and clarinetist Paul Dean was awarded the $25,000 Paul Lowin Orchestral Prize for his first symphonic work, Symphony No I, Black Summer. Commissioned by conductor Alex Briger for the Australian World Orchestra, Dean wrote the symphony in response to the ‘Black Summer’ bushfires that ripped through parts of Australia in 2019/20. It received a five-star review from Limelight at its 2021 AWO premiere.

Receiving the award, Dean thanked his wife, cellist Trish Dean, for her invaluable...